top of page
Zoeken
  • edelisbedtimestories

January Reading Wrap Up

January will probably be one of my more productive reading months. I read four books, one short story and listend to one audiobook. This is where I tell you my thoughts on them. We have six books to go through so let us begin.



The first book I want to talk about is the Audiobook I listend to. That being How to Twist a Dragon's Tale by Cressida Cowell.

Altough this was my least favorite book from the series I still thought it was pretty amazing.

I love how whimsical this book is, and the series overall, and how David Tennant reads the story. I do not think I will ever get tired of this series.









Now I am going to tell you about the short story I read. It was a Tor.com original story called The Last Voyage of Skidbladnir by Karin Tidbeck.


There is not a whole lot I can tell you about this story without telling pretty much everything that happens in it. All I can say is that it was not the best story out there but I nonetheless enjoyed it. It has a self-aware spaceship in it, and that is a huge selling point for me.



Now I'll get into the four remaining books I read in January. I am going to go in chronological order from my first read to my last.



The first day of January I started and finished The Last Namsara by Kristen Ciccarelli

and I absolutely loved it.

I started it once last year and did not like it. So I was pleasantly surprised when I picked it back up early in the morning and could not put it down. This is a story with a few twists I did not see coming, a romance I for once actually loved and there are dragons. Which is always a win in my books. I loved it and highly recommend it. I can not wait to get my hands on the second installment.


After I finished that one I read Half a King by Joe Abercrombie.



It was not really what I expected it to be but I was pleasantly surprised. I do think I will continue with this series but it is not high on my list.


I then read a shorter book that was free from the author, one to drag you into their world, a goal which was achieved. That book being Deliverance at Van Demon's Deep by S. P. Stevens.

(The cover picture has another title on it but Deliverance at Van Demon's deep is the correct one)

It reminded me a little of Amatka by Karin Tidbeck. With the idea of reality being in some kind of flux, but it was still a very original book and a good starter for a series. At least it was to me. So if you are looking for a quick read with believable characters you might want to give this one a go.


And the final book I read in January might be one of my favorites. This being Americanah by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie. After reading Purple Hibiscus last year I am on a bit of a mission to read everything she ever wrote.


Although Purple Hibiscus is still my favorite so far I really really loved reading this book. It was very interesting to see what these people have to go through when they want to go to America. I know it is maybe a bit of an older book and though the devices might be dated I for one think this book is still very relevant. And that is what I loved so far about her books. They are relevant and have interesting plot points and characters. Normally I strongly dislike contemporary, but I love it when she writes it.



But that wraps up my list of books for January. I don't think I will read as much in February. But as long as I enjoy what I read that is just fine with me.

Goodbye.


-E

1 weergave0 opmerkingen

Recente blogposts

Alles weergeven
bottom of page